Reality And Mice

The four-footed one discovered mice today.  It’s the first time that I know of where she has encountered them.  Squirrels she’s good with.  Birds are no problem.  We have figured out what to do with these both.  But mice?

I should say that she a stuffed toy mouse that is fairly realistic.  So after she realized these mice moved, unlike her toy one, I shouldn’t have been surprised that she wanted to pick them up and take them home.  The mice were dead set against this.

I can’t say that I blame the mice, I mean a wet, doggie breath filled mouth with sharp teeth would not be something I’d find welcoming either.  I’d probably run away as well.  I hope none of the mice had heart attacks from the shock of her insistence in trying to carry them in her mouth.

I’m all for curiosity and learning.  Perhaps just not when it results in innocent beings being placed in harmful stress or life and death situation.  Or when it means that mice will be brought into my house and then ignored because the novelty has worn off.  And we really shouldn’t try to take them from their natural habitats just because we can.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.