Sometimes Faking It Won’t Result In Making The End Result

I spend a good portion of my time and energy pretending to be something I’m not.  I try to be like a healthy person and I’m not.  News flash, no matter how many times I fake it I will never make myself into being healthy.

I know dear readers we have had this type of conversation before, and if you are fortunate enough to healthy you may not get this.  Today while having a conversation with a friend in a restaurant, our waitress decided to offer my friend, and inadvertently me, this lovely gem of advice that if you fake it till you make it anything is possible.  This includes dealing with chronic illness according to this waitress who clearly has a medical degree as well as working in the restaurant.

So if one fakes being well one will simply become well according to her theory.  Believe you me, if it were this simply there would thousands of people with chronic illnesses and serious conditions on this band wagon.

Lim not sure why people who know nothing about me or my condition think they have the right to offer me unsolicited advice on what to do to get back to normal.  It is a bit like this:  let’s say you invented a widget machine; it is your pride and joy, you live for this machine.  Now I come along knowing nothing about widgets or machines, but I tell you what you need to do to make it work better.  You’d laugh at me, throw me out of your building and have a great story to tell.

With chronic illnesses like lupus I’m on the one with the widget machine and some stranger comes over to me and says things like:  it’s all in how you view things, eat a healthy diet and avoid X, or have you tried Y it worked for my aunt when she had a cold. When I try to tell the stranger to get out of my shop the stranger gets offended and makes a comment about me not trying to get well or wanting pity.

So here’s the thing, just because I have lupus it doesn’t give people a free license to offer unsolicited advice.

Leave a Reply

