Best Gifts

Beloved’s elderly aunt decided that both he and I needed gifts, a little something to boost our spirits as she put it in her daily emails to us.  Experience has taught me not to decline her generosity as she becomes very offended by this.

She does this every once-and-a-while, randomly out of the clear blue she will announce we need our spirits boosted, even if nothing out of the ordinary is going on for us.  The first time she made this declaration we were the recipients of a gourmet meal at a very fine restaurant.  It was a place we would have otherwise never tried and shared our experience with her after in an email.

Naturally we wanted to surprise her and searched for something different to send her way.  She was delighted that we would send her anything, I get the feeling Beloved’s siblings just accept the gifts with heartfelt thanks and carry on with life.  Granted they can visit her a little more easily than I can.

This time she insisted on sending Beloved a special wine tasting trip.  He was tickled pink by the gift.  She insisted on supplying me with several manicures so that regardless of how awful I may feel, I have something special for my “lovely” nails.  (She admires my natural nails and laughed when I told her it was a sign that I don’t do manual labor.)

When I feel a little better I will go and get my nails done and then I shall take a picture to show her.  But first I want to find something extra special for her, something that is whimsical and will tickle her pink.  Her joy, delight and genuine pleasure is really the best gift I could ever receive!

Leave a Reply

