Nature’s Balm

The four-footed one and I had a nice amble today.  We had no specific destination nor any specific timeframe to adhere to so we took our time.  We watched clouds waltz ever so slowly yet gracefully across the sky.  We listened to the breeze as it made the tree stand way.  We watched in wonder at a crow with beautiful blue-black feathers as it determined the best way to open up a nut it had found.

Okay so maybe the four-footed didn’t do all those things, but while she was doing her thing I was doing mine.  For all I know she could have been plotting her getaway while I was shaking off the bad mood through nature.

The crow, for all I know, may have had worries and fears of its own, but it carried on with the situation at hand.  There is something to be said about letting things sort themselves while you allow nature to soothe the unpleasantness or at least distract you with that which is bigger than yourself.

To be honest being out in nature let me forget myself and consider things from a different point of view.  It didn’t fix my situation any, but it let the negativity slip away even if just for a short period of time.  And in that time I was able to count blessings and find some semblance of a smile from within.

Leave a Reply

