Fancy Dress Or Costume, Which Is It

Beloved tugged at the loose neck of his old, well-worn t-shirt as he read the card in his hand.  You would think, based on his behavior, that his shirt was strangling him to death, but the shirt is so worn it long ago lost its shape.  It was the card, or rather what was on the card that was making him behave so oddly.

The four-footed one is far more curious than I am so I left to her to get him to share.  Which he did the minute she instead on sticking her small, hard and persistent head repeatedly between him and the card.  When the four-footed one demands attention she is nothing if not persistent!  And as is almost always the case, Beloved gave her the attention she so dearly wanted!  Our four-footed one can be a of the jealous sort now and then!

As he was giving her ears a rub, he told me he had been summoned to his niece’s wedding.  Now Beloved is far from being an only child and he is rather younger than the majority of his siblings.  He mother refers to him as a “lovely wee surprise”.  Anyway his sister closest in age to him had sent an invitation to her youngest daughter’s wedding.  She has five children, all of them girls.

The wedding, he said with a look of doom on his face, was to be a special affair, with a Marie Antoinette theme to it.  Now me not having all the pieces to puzzle, could not fathom why he was so down in the mouth since he could simply decline and send a lovely gift. I know it may seem tacky to some of you but I should point out Beloved is not overly close to this niece and it is her fourth attempt at wedded bliss.  So naturally I voiced my thoughts out loud only to corners of his mouth hit the floor as he said, “oh I’m to be part of the wedding”.

An image of him wearing a huge and very bouffant wig popped into my head causing me to giggle. He was not amused by my giggling nor the image that I shared with him.  I’m sure he would have found the humor if he wasn’t fuming over having to be dressed like a groomsman from the royal court. And I missed his inability to find humor in his mandate attire.  Possibly what allowed me to find the humor was knowing I wasn’t I wasn’t invited and therefore spared the dress made out of heavy drapery material and bouffant wig.

An hour or so after the pall of doom was cast upon Beloved by the opening and reading of said card he looked at me and said he simply wasn’t going.  He was too old for this type of thing Andy besides he hadn’t attended three previous weddings for this girl.  He had evidently sent her and her mother an email explaining all of this.

And then he joined me in fits of giggles over imagery and other such thoughts knowing that he was free from having to wear tight stockings and slippers for shoes!

Leave a Reply

