Why Choose A Permanent Pity Party When You Can Choose Gratitude

Sometimes, especially when I’ve missed the signs that tell me I’m not doing enough self-care and it comes down to a friend or loved one insisting that I stop and rest, it’s easy to get lost in the resentment or anger of having to pause.  I know these people mean well and are telling me to slow down because they care about me, but it still reminds me that there is something that makes me different.

The other day was one of those moments where Beloved, after taking a looking st me insisted I go and rest.  At the time I felt a bit off, nothing too bad just tired and achy with a wee fever.  A smart woman would respond to these symptoms and deal with them, but I am not that woman.  After a wee disagreement, I gave in to go and rest with the four-footed one.

Beloved came into the room to take my four-footed one outside and accidentally woke me up, although I wasn’t fully asleep.  I was in that light state of sleep where you could go deeper into sleep or wake up.  I woke up and checked what time it was as I was a wee bit confused.  We had only been resting for an hour when Beloved came in.

By this point my face was proudly displaying the full butterfly rash of very active lupus.  My hands and feet had become very swollen and I was not at my best.  So I went back to sleep leaving the four-footed one in Beloved’s hands.

I was and am grateful to have people in my life who can insist I get proper rest before I realize I need it.  I am appreciative of the fact that I have people in my life who take care of the things I can’t manage all the time.  I’m blessed to have a good medical team and access to medication to help manage my lupus.

I’m grateful to wake up each morning and have some type of adventure, even if it remains only within in the house.  Some days my gratitude is for simpler things, such as the couch, a stocked kitchen and not being in the hospital.

It would be easy to get lost in the negative and throw a huge week-long pity party.  It would be easy to complain and keep a list of what I cannot do.  But why bother with any of that when I have so much to be thankful for, so many people to appreciate and so much gratitude in my life.  Yes I have a chronic illness and yes it has altered my life, but there is still much to appreciate.  Lupus does not run everything in my life and I can choose how to deal with it.  I choose gratitude.

Leave a Reply

