Waking Up To Someone New

I woke up face to face with a pink dinosaur with a yellow horn on her nose. Peeking around just behind her was a green and purple dragon, his red tongue resting on her head.

I didn’t climb into bed with either of these two.  As a matter of fact I climbed into bed alone, the four-footed blanket weight had curled up against on the bed, but not in the bed with me.  I haven’t slept with any stuffed animals in a number of years.  Perhaps my four-footed companion felt I need additional company.  She managed to sneak them into bed while I was sleeping thanks to medication and such.

Needless to say I was a bit surprised to discover my sleeping companions.  Waking up to someone new in bed who,wasn’t there when you crawled into the bed is shocking and disorienting.  Waking up like that while dealing with the side effects of strong mediation to tame lupus was enough to keep me in my bed a little longer.

Of course when I got out of bed the four-footed one decided the dinosaur needed to come with us.  So we moved into the comfortable chair to do some reading/resting, the three of us.  The four-footed one on my lap with the dinosaur resting on both of us.

Some days you just need a little dinosaur in your life, and if you are lucky, a four-footed companion takes care of this for you.

Leave a Reply

