A Walk In The Park

Five or six mornings a week I go for a long walk around sunrise.  The four-footed one was less than thrilled when I started this routine, but she seems to enjoy the different smells that are present this time of day.  I secretly think she enjoys the fact that the birds are a bit more sluggish and therefore easier to chase at this early hour!

I enjoy the stillness of human activity while we walk.  A lot of mornings the only sounds and beings we encounter comes in the form of birds, squirrels and such.  People on bikes or driving cars form the last part of the scene, the portion where we are almost home.  This sudden onslaught of people reminds me just how noisy humans are.

Most mornings I look forward to reaching certain points on our walk so I can take pictures of what nature generously shares with me.  However some mornings I don’t look forward to these pauses the same way.

Some mornings I see each of these stopping points as a goal to reach.  On these mornings I don’t measure the walk as whole, instead break it up into se stopping points and remind myself that if I really cannot do it, I only have from the stopping point to home rather than the full walk.  I try to not have too many of these mornings because they mean pain, stiffness, exhaustion and all the other fun things that come with a case of flaring lupus.

On a few of these lupus mornings, I cannot even enjoy what nature provides, I can only focus on one foot in front of  the other.    Thankfully those morning are few and far between.  Unfortunately the mornings where I can ignore my health and focus solely on nature are never as many as I wish for. But each morning is a new opportunity.

Leave a Reply

