Late For The Tea Party

I was late for a tea party today.  Not just a little late because I had nothing to wear either.  I was late by hours, as in the party started, ran and finished before I could even consider going to it.  And yes it was a party I wanted to attend.

Thankfully a friend attended and managed to bring me back some of the tea I wanted to try!  And she was able to tell me all about the party as well, which was also nice.  You see the tea party was also a tea tasting and I’m always looking for ways to curb some of the side effects of my medication.  I’ve found some fruit teas that help with some of the issues so I was excited to try more.  And I’m blessed to have a friend help me with this.

I hadn’t planned on being late, the only thing I had scheduled in the day besides the tea tasting party was a doctor’s appointment.  And it was this appointment which was scheduled hours earlier than the tea party that created the issue.  Or rather it was my doctor’s decision, he insisted on “just one quick little test” which he swore would be easy and not result in needing anything more to be done.

He was wrong.  His test resulted in a trip to another department in the hospital, I’m,existent which meant more testing and medication.  Oh yes and a scan that required radioactive dye to be injected into me.  The dye needed time to travel everywhere it needed to go so I had to wait an hour or so and then hop in for the scan.  Needless to stay I was at the hospital the majority of the day.

I texted my friend to let her know I wasn’t going to be able to meet her as I had finished a rather long day and just needed to go home and nap.  She stopped by later on with the tea and the stories which helped keep my mind off the test results and the day in general.  Sometimes lupus is like this, no it isn’t all fun and adventure, some days it’s just hurry up and wait.

Leave a Reply

