To The Tips Of My Toe

Toes.  Those little digits on the ends of your feet.  Small little things that have a habit of getting in the way or striking objects. Toes are marvellous things when they are wiggling in the warm sand of a beach.  Toes are wonderful for squishing in mud or letting thick carpet fluff up between them.

Of course we use our toes for walking and balance, but that’s only when you look at them from a practical vantage point.  For some people another practical aspect of toes just happens to be this neat ability to pick items with them.  Kind of like our cousins the monkeys.  And yes some folks can use their toes for climbing trees or rocks.

I don’t normally consider my toes, unless I’ve smacked them into a table leg or put a chair leg on top of one of my toes.  But these days I’m thinking a bit more about my toes because of the four-footed one.  You see she has taken to going for longer walks, specifically in the hillside areas.  My toes are paying the price for her love of adventures during the day.  The price is increased pain, probably from all the times I cracked or broke them in the past.  My toes are not made for hill walking it seems.

At first I thought my toes hurt because of my shoes.  I thought my feet were sliding around and banging into the ends of my shoes, but that doesn’t appear to be the case.  As best the professionals can tell I’m just continuing to make smaller jig saw puzzle pieces with my bones, specifically my toe bones.

Leave a Reply

