Destroying or Why My Nose Isn’t On The Ground

One of the most fascinating things I’ve rediscovered with the four-footed one is that no two days are the same.  Of course this also goes for no two walks are the same.  Not even if you take the route within the same day.  There is always something a little different that must be investigated with a focus on detail and diligence.

I suppose there is something magical about really getting caught up in the moments and just embracing them as they come along. A person, well at least this person, would be wise to let things be more magical and less spent focused on a million things happening in her head.  But of course the minute I try to be more in the moment something pops into head and I end up seeing the walk as the same one we just did.

I should point out to you that part of my problem may come from the fact that I don’t use my nose to capture the scents on a walk.  Well let me correct this, I notice some smells, but I’m not like the dog in that when I’m walking I’m not doing it with my nose down on the ground.  Granted it’s impossible for me to walk with my nose on the ground, but you get what I mean.

Perhaps this is part of why I can’t live in the moment and instead in my head…I just can’t focus on something as it is.  Perhaps deep down inside I’m just someone who has to destruct things first.

Leave a Reply

