Adventures With My Companion

We headed out for a short walk, or so I thought.  My travel companion had a very different idea, or perhaps we just have a different understanding of what is a short walk. Then again it can be hard to control one’s self when one is off on a big adventure.  And that, my friends, is how my travel companion sees just about every walk we take.

So every time I thought we were about to turn back, my companion would lunge ahead, tempted by the scent of something new.  She didn’t heed my reminder that we would have to walk all this way back home, or how tired she was judging from her tongue flopping out of mouth now and then.  Still forward we pushed as though heading home wasn’t an option, or something less than desirable at any rate.

Slowly we worked our way home walking the long way.  She seemed oblivious of what I was doing, or at least happy to allowed to carry on her adventurous mode by taking the long, out-of-the-way path back home.

Upon arrival back home, an hour later, she immediately had a drink and flopped in a spot of sunlight and promptly fell asleep.  The kind of sleep where you don’t even move because you are so tired.  Of course that sleep lasted just long enough to get the taste for another adventure, long before I was ready for one.  But then my companion doesn’t worry too much about whether or not I’m ready for another adventure so much as she works on that cute, whole body wiggle or wag thing that she does when she really wants something.  And she knows that I find it irresistible and give in, because an adventure means more fun just ahead or around the corner.

Leave a Reply

