A Different High

When I was a child one of my favourite things to do was swing.  I loved to hop on a swing and get it to go as high as it could, almost like flying.  And I’d get brave with that swing too, I’d get it going so hard that the legs, which were supposed to anchor the swingset down, would end up lifting a bit off the ground.  And if I was feeling really brave as the swing was slowing  down, as it was coming time to stop swinging I’d get myself to a point where I could just jump off the moving swing.  My mother used to claim this took years off her life.  And I was the kind of child who sometimes would be thrilled by that knowledge and thus do it more frequently than I otherwise would have.

And today I found a park with a swingset.  An empty swingset that would I could hop on and fly once more.  So of course after glancing around to make sure there wasn’t anyone around, I jumped on that swing and got to making it fly.  Probably not nearly as high as I did when I was a child, but still fun.  Besides I’ve got to work against gravity more now because, well, I’m bigger than I was as a child.

And for the record I did not jump off the swing before it stopped.  Not because I’m not brave, but I’ve got brittle bones and what have you to think about these days.  Besides now, when I want to go flying I can get in a plane and reach other heights!  But I will let you in on a little something, swinging is still as much fun as it ever was!

Leave a Reply

