Of Dogs, Medical Appointments And Gratitude

I grabbed my four-footed companion and took her with me for rounds to my various healthcare providers.  We had gifts and much thanks to offer these wonderful people who do their best to keep me healthy despite me not always following orders.

My companion was of course a huge hit and she revelled in the attention she received.  When one of the nurses opted to take my blood work to check if I’d be able to do my treatment tomorrow another one informed me that my companion required being snuggled.  By the nurse rather than myself so that my companion wouldn’t see the blood being drawn from my arm.

I understand the logic that you don’t want a squirming puppy getting in the midst of a blood draw, and I can see the need to not have the patient hold the dog during this procedure.  I don’t really understand the dog being upset seeing the blood being drawn from my arm.  To be honest I don’t think the dog cares one way or another.  Although she might be fascinated in watching the blood fill up the various tubes.

My companion was having none of this cuddling by a stranger.  She kicked and she pushed, she squirmed and she wriggled all in an effort to get away from the stranger.  She growled and whimpered until she was placed on my lap.  Where she sat while we waited for the results.

When the rheumatologist came out to discuss the results she carefully assessed him.  She seemed to understand when he told me I wouldn’t be able to have more treatment for this year.  That’s what I took her sudden growling as.  So did the rheumatologist.  He apologized and tried to make nice to her, but she was having none of it.

The doctor wrote out prescriptions to get me through as best it can be and told me to snuggle the dog and hang on tight when things seem bad.  Because the bad moments are not nay a speed bump, until you are the one dealing with them.  Not exactly the gift I was hoping for, but within each moment we are provided lessons to learn.  This one is to allow others to help, admit things aren’t all rainbows and the appreciation and gratitude I have for those in my life, especially the four-footed kind who don’t care about lupus or that I’m not able to do everything they want.

Leave a Reply

