Eating Greens Dog Style or Pass The Peas

Eat your greens lately?  Have some nice dark, leafy things?  If not my four-footed companion has some ideas for you.  Such as nibble on the African Violet in the pot you can reach.  Or maybe you want something more delicate like a fern leaf.  No?  How about some sweet blades of grass when they are in season?

I noticed some odd things happening to the green leaves on my African Violet the other day.  Jagged little bits here and there.  I couldn’t figure out what caused it.  Thankfully my four-footed one heard me considering this mystery and  decided to solve it for me.  By showing me.  She takes a bites out of the leaves and then spits them out on the floor.

After observing her in the wild of my house, I noticed she does the same with the fern too.  And I caught her early in the year doing the same with the grass.  She’s got her own version of picky.

And to prove she’s willing to try new things, she has sampled lettuce that has fallen on the floor as well as spinach.  She is not a fan of either of these items, but carrots are acceptable.  And watch your fingers if you drop some apple and try to reduce it.  You may loose your fingertips if you aren’t fast enough.

The four-footed one likes peas too.  Provided she isn’t expected to eat them.  Peas are more or less play things.  The name of the game is to roll peas all throughout my house and watch me go crazy trying to find them all.

But I guess she doesn’t mind her veggies and stuff provided she has it her way.

Leave a Reply

