Don’t Want To So I Won’t … Or Maybe Not

We all have to do things we don’t want to do.  We all have to do things we don’t like to do.  These were things my parents told me when I was younger.  I assume it was a means of answering a child’s moaning answer of I don’t want to do this.  I also assume, at first, my parents thought this would be the ideal answer and said child would simply get on with doing whatever the request was.

Sadly my parents were given me as a child.  Perhaps the universe has a sense of Humor as I never really accepted answers such as the ones provided. I’ve been told my response was somewhat along the lines of I’m not doing it and stomping my foot.  What my parents failed to do, probably from shock or anger, is that we can avoid doing things we don’t want,  but there are always a consequence to this.  Fortunately for me as a headstrong and somewhat willful child, my parents never really went down that avenue when I was younger.  That changed when I got older though.

As I watch some of my friends deal with this very issue now with their children I notice that unlike my parents, my friends have decided to find a way to help their children avoid doing what they dislike.  One friend went so far as to explain to teachers that her child should never be made to do anything.  This changed recently when her son decided to skip his chemistry and physics classes.

He told her he didn’t want to do any more stuff in either class because it wasn’t fun.  He’d sooner go home and be on his computer.  Because, as he patiently told her, he is going into computer sciences when he goes to university and it would be better for him to just focus on that.

Now if that had been me, I’m pretty sure my parents would have left me on my own to figure out university and such.  My friend however has not done this.  Instead she told him he will be going to those classes and applying himself, because she said so.  We shall see how this plays out!

In keeping with her son’s logic, I don’t want to pay taxes or go to work.  But old like to still get paid as if I did go to work.  And I’d like all the benefits that taxes provide.  Because I said so.  I will keep you posted on how is works if I actually chose to not do it.

Leave a Reply

