It’s Gift Time…Getting Into Practice

Over the course of my life, I’ve received numerous presents.  Some have been exactly what I’ve wanted, others were what I wanted however I didn’t know that at the time.  Some have been gifts of the heart and others have been ones of obligation.  There have been expected presents and surprise gifts.

Some gifts are the kind you don’t even realize until something happens.  Such as the passing of a loved one.  That’s when you learn things like the gift of unconditional love.  Or the gift of what it feels like to be cherished, valued or adored.

And then there have been real stinkers.  Like the dead animals the four-footed companions have dropped off for me.  Or the rotten vegetation that seems to find a way into my house no matter what I do.  I mean those a real stinkers that sure are a surprise, just not of the wanted variety so to speak.  But they are gifts all the same, it is just a matter of how you look at it.  I know, I keep telling myself this each time I step on something unexpected and squishy in the middle of the night.  Because a gift is a gift after all.

Leave a Reply

