I Heard It

I knew I was getting older. And I expected certain things to happen as I got a little more mature, shall we say. You know, things like vision issues, mobility issues. That kind of thing. I Am actually prepared for that. What I  wasn’t expecting was my hearing. It seems that I’m more sensitive to noises now then when I was younger. The lovely Doctor indicated that this can happen as we get older, but it rarely happens. The volume I used to listen to the television at now is painful to my ears.  So super hearing is surely on the way. More likely the nice man told me it is that I have more frequently headaches due to light  and noise sensitivity. Pity. I was looking forward to having an awesome super power. Not that the hearing would be my issue. But I’d take what I get.

But then I got to thinking will there come a point where every little thing is just too much or just too loud, too bright?  As I thought about I shared my thoughts with a friend who suggested that I just need a break from all the noise around me.  She said that today we are exposed to so much noise all the time it could just be that my ears are rebelling.  It’s a nice thought, one that fits with today, but I do wonder if maybe before one’s hearing goes down it gets more sensitive.

But I am going to take a rest from all the noise around.  I shall curl up with a lovely book for a while and listen to nothing loud than the turning of pages!

Leave a Reply

