When I Grow Up

When I was younger I swore I’d be different from the women I saw in my life.  I would throw off traditional roles, which I’ve sort of done.  Some of it was from breaking traditional roles and others because, let’s face it, I am not the domestic goddess that other women are.  But I sure can turn a turkey into a charcoal artifact like no one’s business! 😉

At some point I realized that while I can step out of a traditional role, that doesn’t mean others see me in any other light  than as someone not doing what she should be doing.  And to some I am a balance or rather a person attempting to balance modern with tradition.  For the record my ability to balance is less than ideal.

Whether I shrug off the labels and roles or not doesn’t matter to most people.  My mother certainly accepted that I’d do things my way from career to cooking.  My mother tried, bless her, still tired to offer me a way back to traditional things.  A cookbook or favourite recipe.  How-to books and subtle suggestions.  And while I’ve grateful for all of this, I’m sure she saw it as me devaluing what mattered to her by not once fully accepting her invitation on the journey of what she enjoyed.  I don’t think I could have ever done things her way without some type of modification.  (Thanks for teaching me the art of modification dad!)

So while I may never make a mean Christmas turkey, I can brew an excellent cup of coffee and colors the importance of myth, religion and well-being.  So maybe, just maybe, I’ve found what I’m going to do when I grow up! 😐😊

 

Leave a Reply

