Speed Bumps and Marathons

I was run over by a truck today.  A massive gravel truck with an extra full load.  I believe it ran over me and then backed over me for good measure.  After that I lost count of how many vehicles used me as an annoying speed bump, barely slowing down as the ran over me too

I always thought, or rather Bugs Bunny cartoons taught me to expect, that when you get run over you’d simply become flat like a pancake. And of course through the luck of animation you’d be a bit like an accordion, all folded up.  But basically you’d come out okay in the end.  At least that’s how Wylie E Coyote was impacted.

But my friends that’s not at all what this is like.  This is unending pain, unyielding exhaustion and loss of energy. Before you become outraged and demand to know the trucking company who left me a boneless, mangled mess, settle down.  You see the trucking company was hired by lupus.

Lupus paid the driver to take an extra heavy load and hit me at high speed.  Probably paid out a bonus for he backing the truck back up over me before taking off.  The added cars that used me as a speed bump were just an added, unpaid bonus.

I think I may have used up my allotment of energy with this post to be honest.  But this is temporary, this pain and exhaustion.  I may not be like an accordion, but I’m like a runner who finds her second wind when it seems she can’t run another step.  You see lupus and I are running a marathon.  And while I may not always be ahead, it is a long race and I will come out winning this one.

Leave a Reply

