When Addiction and Hoarding Is Good

I have a confession to make.  I’ve been trying to work on my addiction and hoarding get problem.  But I slipped up.  It happens, they have assured me.  The key is to dust yourself off and try again.

But I can’t.  Dust myself off that is.  You see my hands are full.  With all the books I’ve bought.  Yet again.  After I said I would control my addiction.  But I guess the truth is, I don’t want to control this feverish addiction I have to books.  So it is my hording of books that must change.  But they need good homes.  And I have a good home for books.

And besides, Beloved has a book addiction too.  So we are both addicts to the written word.  Both hoarders of books.  Hence the library here and the need for more shelving.  We do part with books.  Now and then.  More then rather than now.  Because saying goodbye to these treasures is so hard.

So I thought after a few months of not purchasing any books I was in control of this compulsion to buy books.  I honestly thought I could walk into the lovely independent bookstore and safely browse. And boy did I browse.

I browsed two bags full of must-haves that whispers sweet words to my soul.  I browsed heavy books that give me cardio as well as weight-bearing work. And it felt good friends.  So very good to have these books of mine.  One’s I’ve been longing to read.

So yes my addiction is back, as is the hoarding.  But these aren’t bad things really, considering its books.  And considering we have to hire someone  for more shelves.

Leave a Reply

