The Sticky Issue

My doctor, well to be honest it’s only one of collection I seem to be working on, suggested I see a chiropractor after I mentioned that my neck sometimes feels like it’s getting stuck.  Especially if I’ve kept my head bent down for a period of time,mother it feels as if the base of my skull is catching on something in my neck.  As if the bones are jammed somehow.

That’s how it feels, not necessarily what is happening.  And in all fairness if I were a doctor and be of my patients came to me with this kind of explanation I might be at a bit of a loss as well.  I may suggest something out of my ordinary realm of suggestions too.

And I know chiropractors, well two in total, and their both are very nice people who genuinely want to help people.  I realize that this is a small sample size so it is potential that not all of them are nice or helpful, but that’s just a potential.  And yet here is the rub my friends, I am unsure of the practice.  I get the theoretical idea behind it.  I just don’t think I can get behind the need to realign my bones when they are getting stuck and jammed in each other.

Okay so that sounds rather silly, but it’s true.  I believe it works for some people, just not me on account of my lack of belief.  You see popping or cracking my neck isn’t what I think I need so much as bones to get unstuck.  Okay so technically it may be what I need. But I can’t wrap my head around it.  Granted with the way my neck is behaving I can’t focus on much of anything.

Some people would say that if they were in so much pain or discomfort they’d try anything to get it sorted out.  So what is my problem?  My inability to try something not within my immediate understanding? Is it that I’ve fixated on those freak horror stories that happen in rare instances?

Has anyone had any experience with those?

6 thoughts on “The Sticky Issue

  1. Hi! I see a chiropractor weekly for adjustments, for my neck, back and hips! I’ve had a great experience! Not only for adjustments, but for proper stretching and other treatments aside from the adjustment itself. My chiropractor has also shown me on an x-ray why I feel the pain I do and how things I can do to prevent and fix my problems. Sometimes when I feel as though I’m really as you say “jammed” I leave feeling light as a feather after an adjustment. Not for everyone, but I wouldn’t fear trying it out! 🙂

  2. Hey, I love your blog and wanted to let you know I nominated you for a Liebster Award! You don’t have to participate, but if you’re interested, the rules are on my most recent post: https://justinqueso.wordpress.com/2016/04/07/liebster-award-2/

Leave a Reply

