Storming in Gratitude

Friends I hate to say it, but today I’m not a happy camper.  Okay the truth is I’m never happy if I’m facing this odd thing called camping.  I need walls, a roof, hot water, cold water, running water, indoor flushing toilets.  Oh and my bed, coffee maker and electricity.  Anything less than that and I’m not going to be happy.  😉

I was working on gratitude, things I’m truly grateful for and yet continually take for granted when the wind picked up.  It picked up about half of the ocean and hurled it my way.  I’m not a fan of that.  Okay not half the ocean and not a tsunami just seemed like that.  What really happened is this thing. called a storm.  A storm with lashing, heavy rain and gale force winds.  I’m not really sure about how forceful gale is, but I can tell you she was knocking people over into the rapidly growing puddles.

Now normally I keep a good storm.  Rain?  That’s fine.  Lightening?  Love it.  Thunder?  Sure why not.  Except the dogs don’t like it.  And I’ve come to realize I’m not a fan of a storm that makes the dogs afraid to go out and send my neighbor hurling into the wall.  Also, well I know the floors could use a washing, I’d prefer to wash it my way, not with water just seeping in throughout the cracks in the door.

while I was getting my total unhappy camper face on, which looks like this 😫, I realized how fortunate I was to be in a place where I could get in out of the weather.  A place that was dry, warm and held my creature comforts.  And to be honest I was grateful to have the two four-footed ones around.  Because it’s really not possible to not grateful to have them in my life.

And, I reminded myself as I felt unhappiness creeping around the edges, I’m most grateful for not having to be a camper.  I’m grateful to not have to experience that which I do not like!  So I guess in a way I still got part of my gratitude exercise completed, just not exactly how it was supposed to be done.  But life doesn’t always follow rules or templates.  Sometimes you just get going on whatever path you happen upon and go along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

