Guilt, Gender, And Why

Every day I am reminded how blessed I am to live where I do and make a living the way I do. Part of that has to do with being born where I was.  Is that luck of the draw?  Perhaps.  I can’t say for sure, but I do know that being born a female on some countries limits one’s future options.  I was blessed to be born in a country where the only limits placed on my future where the ones I placed on it.

In my line of work I get to talk about, explore and give voice to things.  In some places this would be unheard of for a female.   I realize that I am lucky to be able to do what I do especially given my gender.  There are moments, sure, that I question the sanity of myself.  I suspect everyone does that from time to time when it comes their career or job.  But those are fleeting and for the most part I love what I do.

The thing that drives me insane is that when I stop and think about it, it comes down to gender.  Why?  When did we decided that women weren’t capable, competent or worthy of doing certain things?  How did we get to the point that we feel threatened by a gender?  And yes I say threatened because why else do you limit, restrict and silence one gender unless you are threatened by it?  I don’t see how anyone gains something from discrediting and ignoring a gender, but that’s just me.

I’ve said it before and I will say it again, I want to live in a world where we drop these labels.  Where being a female doesn’t mean I was hired to fill a quota or be a token employee who may not be taken seriously.  I also don’t want to live in a world where I am made to feel guilty because of the fortune I’ve experienced due to where I’ve been born.  Yes I do think we have to support and elevate each other, but not by putting others down or holding onto a sense of entitlement.

It is a tricky subject with no quick fix or easy change to implement.  But to sit and do nothing, or feel guilty will not change a thing.  How do we, then, find equality and how do we balance this all given not everyone sees the western ideologies as something to strive towards?

 

Leave a Reply

