An Illusion for All Time

Time runs through my fingers so quickly, I barely even feel the texture.  Twenty-four hours now run by before I even am ready to call it a day.  How did this happen?  There was a time, not that long ago, when a day stretched endless before me.

I have  no ability to stop time, to hold things still and just sit in that moment.  The best I can do is set aside all the stuff I do because it’s expected and run away for a bit.  A vacation from responsibilities of sort.  But it too is never long enough and as time moves more swiftly and loved ones slip away I search for a means to push back the time.

there are so many things that need tending to that life seems to spin faster and faster.  I’ve been told we can step off the merry-go-round and slow things down, but it requires energy, effort and skills.  Skills I lack, skills Beloved lacks.  And the time it would take to acquire these skills is slipping away too.

I’ve a friend who says if you get right down to it, do only the important stuff that needs doing, hold time with your loved ones dearly and relax a little. She firmly believes all this running around and chasing things is exceedingly unhealthy.  She is one of the few people I know who practices what she believes and it seems to suit her.  But she too notices time going faster now.  She says it makes things sweeter.

I’d settle for holding back time a little, but since I can’t I shall just savour the moments as they come.  Now if you will excuse me, there is a man and a dog who both need to be hugged.

Leave a Reply

