Doing Time Lupus Style

It was one of those days where the list of things to do was longer than the day itself.  It also happened to be one of those days where I could only drag myself around and try not to think of everything that needed doing.

It was one of those days where I ended up throwing in the towel and curling up on to rest a bit.  Clearly the towel I threw in was exactly what the dog wanted because he made a beeline straight for where I was and flopped down beside me.

Now I know this may make me appear lazy to some, and I guess if you don’t understand what it’s like to live with lupus that makes sense.  But when you have limited energy sometimes the list can’t be completed.  Sometimes the best choice you can make is to flop down and toss in the towel.

Besides in the grand scheme of things, picking up paper towels isn’t going to matter.  Not like spending time with loved ones or taking care of your health.  I’ve yet to hear an elderly person say s/he wished that s/he had spent more time picking up paper towels, laundry or what have you.  There is a reason people talk about spending time with loved ones and those that are important in our lives…because in the end that’s what matters.  That’s where the memories come from.  And I’m grateful for the “lazy” afternoon I had with the dog.  Paper towels?  Well I will just put them on another list!

4 thoughts on “Doing Time Lupus Style

  1. Lazy at times has to go hand in hand with Lupus! I usually sleep for at least an hour each afternoon just to get enough strength to get through the rest of the day! Thankfully those closest to me understand but I do sometimes wonder if there are those that feel I am just making a fuss! x

  2. Lupus My Invisible Companion
    My name is Chelsea Stark. And I recently was diagnosed with lupus. I just started a blog titled lupus my invisible companion and I’m looking for people to share some life stories. And some vitamins for exercises or prescriptions that help them. The goal of this blog is to help other people with lupus and maybe educate those who do not have it. Here is the link. https://lupusmyinvisiblecompanion.wordpress.com

    • Thank you for stopping by. I’m sorry that you have the constant companion of lupus as well in your life, but you are clearly full of spirit, dreams and determination. These are great things to have if you have to have lupus!

Leave a Reply

