Slipping

Friends something happened overnight, something I wasn’t expecting.  It’s a thing called caution based off of fear.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’m a cautious person in some circumstances, but overly so.

I don’t know what happened, some dreadful pixie dust or so I guess.  But I woke up this morning, went to grab a shower and realized that we have a slippery shower floor.  Now I’ve had hundreds of showers in this shower.  I use it regularly, which means I’ve had ample opportunity to make this observation before.  But I never did.

Today I not just realized we have a slippery shower floor, but also that if I fell in said shower there is no way I could avoid hitting my head.  I’m not overly worried about damaging the minimal contents that reside in that vast space called my head.  Nope I’m just worried about the pain and the blood.  Head wounds bleed.  Lots.  And if it were me with the head wound, bleeding all over the place, well I’d have to be the one to clean it all up.  And I’m not a fan of that.

So friends I caught myself thinking of adhesives or such that I could put on the floor to make it less slippery.  I also briefly considered hand rails or such, just in case.

If it had stopped there is be okay with this.  But no, I questioned the footwear I had picked out for today.  Lovely shoes.  That have little grip  to them.  This, again, isn’t new.  I’ve worn these countless times through a variety of weather without a care in the world.

Suddenly I’ve become a little old lady, well okay not a lady, but old.  You know the kind who wears sensible shoes (didn’t get around to actually buying any yet) and warns you about slipping.  Yeah that seems to be me.

The thing is, I can’t really explain how this even happened.  I went to bed, had a decent rest and woke up all worried about falling and breaking hips etc.  I haven’t heard of anyone who has recently broken a hip or any other bone for that matter.  Yet here I am worried about that very thing.  And not just for me either!

Oh no, not me at all.  I just share my observations and concerns, so you just know Beloved got a call about the state of things and so did a few close friends.  I suspect soon I will be saying  things like “when I was young” or “back when” while I sit on a sensible chair in my sensible shoes.  The kind with extra grip.  And the shower floor will be adorned with no-slip textured floors, because why not?

 

Leave a Reply

