Just Basking And Balancing

The dog wanted to take advantage of the nice weather.  Nice for him because he was wearing a fur coat.  I don’t have a fur coat.  I also can’t bask in the sunshine the way the dog does.  Well I could, if I dont mind giving lupus another lease on life.  But I do.  So no basking in the sunshine for me.

The problem with not basking in the sunshine on a day like today is that the shade is much cooler.  And I dont have a fur coat.  So while the dog was basking in the green grass I was sitting in a chair in the shade.  I was also doing my best imitation of a caterpillar in a cocoon.   Only it was just me wrapped up in a blanket with a book.  Because the dog wanted to be outside.  And because I don’t need to give lupus any more strength than it already has.

I have a life, one that  includes Beloved and a dog.  My life also includes lupus.  I do what I can to make the most of quality life time with Beloved and the dog.  I do what I ca to keep lupus at bay and not interfere too much into my life.  But since I havent mastered a way to banish it from my life, I work on finding a way to deal with it by not giving up my life.

I suspect this is really the daily grind one has when living with a chronic illness.  Some people just seem to be better at this balancing act.  Some people seem to get ground down a bit more in the daily grind of life with a chronic illness.  Any buffer or means of staving things off is a blessing with chronic illnesses.  At least it is in my eyes, even if it is while I’m wrapped up in a blanket sitting outside! 😊

2 thoughts on “Just Basking And Balancing

  1. Glad to hear that you’re a glass half full person! It makes it easier to deal with. I’ve been through cancer and still going through things and that half full attitude is what gets me by. Well wishes your way!

    • Thank you for stopping by, reading and sharing. I’m sorry to hear you are still dealing with things. Cancer is a longer journey than just the treatment. Well wishes that things go well for you!

Leave a Reply

