Comfortable Community of Sorts

Some people take blankets with them.  Others insist on having a pillow, stuffed animal or special picture.  Some need ton be near the window, others throw on a sleeping mask and headphones.  No rally there is a tv droning on somewhere.  Since we tend to be creatures of habit, we usually seek out the same station if possible.  I’ve even encountered people who tie w bit of superstition into this.

IV therapy time is always the same, and often times for me I’m seeing the same people each time.  I guess we form a bit of our own community.

Not every one of us has lupus, but our therapies are similar and besides when you are sitting there stuck to the chair with a lovely IV in your arm delivering toxic yet needed to live material into your body, you tend to find companionship with those also going through it!

to be honest it’s the medical staff as well as my fellow patients that make IV therapy more than just bearable.  I look forward to hearing how people are doing, what’s going on in their worlds. Sometimes I need their encouragement and sometimes im blessed enough to be able to offer them encouragement.

It’s nice to find that chronic illnesses like lupus can provide a means of community, especially when these illnesses are typical ones that make you seem isolated!  I guess it’s all what you make of it and if it’s all the same to you, I will make good of lupus where I can!😊

2 thoughts on “Comfortable Community of Sorts

  1. I love this post! Look for the good where we can.

    • Thanks for stopping by and letting me know. It’s so important yo find the positives and the good when you are handed a lot of potential negatives that come with things like chronic illness. Otherwise I find it wears me down to a small nub if myself.

Leave a Reply

