3 Little Letters, That’s All

S.L.E.  Three little letters that turned my whole world around and upside down.  Of course three little letters stand for big words:  Systemic Lupus Erythematosus.  Or as I like to think of it, an immune system on steroids and confused. 😉

Those three little letters didn’t just teach me about fancy words, either.  They’ve taught me far more about myself than I ever would have learned otherwise.  I learned that I am stronger than I thought.  I learned im far more stubborn than I would have ever suspected.  I learned what it is to be desperate and what it means to hold hope in my hands.

These three little letters affect me in so many ways.  And yet how the impact me may not be the same as their impact on person who also shares those letters.

I once thought it best to cope with these three little letters on my own.  They’ve shown me life is better not alone.  They force me to interact and rely on others.

In some ways I wish I never had these little letters in my life.  And yet in other ways these letters have improved me.  Not physically, for S.LE. destroys the physical, but mentally and emotionally.  But all in all I’d give up these letters because they are high maintenance, which makes sense because lupus makes me high maintenance!  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

