Fishing For Hope

When I was a child, we’d go to the fair now and then.  One of my favorite things attractions was a game of fishing.  This is somewhat amusing considering that nowadays I have no desire to fish.

Of course the game at the fair didn’t involve real fish, instead you had to hook a toy fish.  Each toy had  a piece of paper in it and that paper indicated the prize you won.  It wasn’t really about the prize, at least not for me.  It was the thrill of trying to get the fish because the reality was, you weren’t guaranteed to get a fish each time.

Nothing in life is guaranteed.  Just because you cast your line into the water it doesn’t mean that the fish will bite, or that there even are fish in the water.  But knowing this doesn’t stop me from casting my line or hoping for the fish on the end.

So why do I do it?  Why bother casting my line when nothing is promised? Because there is hope.  Hope for the great prize to be found on the end of my line.  It’s a bit like chasing  the lottery dream that most people play.  ☺️

I suppose it’s the thrill of the chase as much as that moment of potentially having your dream and having life made better, or easier.  Granted there is no guarantee that winning the lottery or hooking the fish with the best prize will actually make life better or easier.  Perhaps it’s just that the amount of grass and the thickness of it increases with that win.  The reality is it may not be any better on the other side of the fence, no matter how wonderful it looks.

Now, if you will excuse me, I may haven bite on the line, or is it just stuck in the weeds?😉

 

Leave a Reply

