Cooking Creatively, or Adventures In The Kitchen

I recently ran out of eye of newt so I thought I could make do with a pinch of hair of dog and a splash of water.  Being new to this who whole cauldron, I mean cooking, I was pretty much winging it.  And evidently my ability to wing it was akin to a lame bird, a very lame bird.

I find my time in the kitchen to be akin to a witch casting a spell.  But the truth is a bit different.  The truth is, my time in the kitchen is closer to the Muppet show.  I know, I know, some of you are thinking of the Swedish Chef from the Muppets and while I can understand that, it’s not exactly spot on.  Nope, me in the kitchen is more like the scientist and his ever so helpful assistant Beaker. I’m pretty much Beaker in the kitchen.

For the record, I am capable of speaking, do not have orange hair and have no scientist to guide me.  Instead I have cook books, television shows and a strange aversion to getting the food just right.

It may have something to do with my inability to know what a pinch, dash, speck or splash really are.  That plus the whole cauldron  thing, but regardless, I’ve managed to survive and even thrive  my cooking.  Because why be boring when you can have adventure and fun.

Leave a Reply

