Chained Up

I’ve never actually worked on a chain-gang. Mostly because I’ve never been incarcerated. But I’ve seen them, in movies and a few times on the sides the roads, doing clean up. It always looks more fun in the movies to be honest, but even then, it doesn’t look like all that much fun.

Maybe it doesn’t look like fun because I’m not really an outdoor kind of person. And then there is that thing called manual labor. Yeah I’m not really into that either to be honest.

And while I know chains can be seen as an accessory, a means to complete an outfit or make a statement, I don’t think it’s the same kind of chains as what they have on these chain-gang details. I’m just going out on a limb with that one, but I feel pretty well supported on this limb! 😉

Then there is this whole authority thing. I really don’t like being told what to do or when to do it. I understand that happens on chain-gangs too.

I’d sooner be on the kind of chain-gang that involves stores, jewelry stores. I’d be happy to wear those chains, but I’d still have authority issues. My understanding is that wearing this type of chain is not conducive to manual labor. These seem to be my kind of chains. But I don’t want them with strings attached!

The fact is, I don’t want to be chained up, not because of choices I made, nor because I’m beholden to someone for something nice and sparkly. I’d sooner go without the adornments in exchange for my freedom, in exchange for not having chains that bind and tie me. Nope, I need to roam, free to come and go, do as I please and not be on a chain-gang.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.